

PARTNERS WITH THE COMMUNITY FOR 50 YEARS

Formed in 1964, the Russell Police Department is celebrating its anniversary of serving and protecting the citizens of Russell Township for 50 years. The first election held in Russell Township was in 1827. Alpheus Russell was the first elected constable. Elections for constables were held every two years and constables kept the peace in Russell Township until 1960.

In 1960, Russell Township contracted with the Geauga County Sheriff's Department for full time police protection with special deputies assigned to work in Russell Township. The police station was located in an office at the Russell Fire Department.

On December 30, 1964, the contract with the Geauga County Sheriff's Department ended and a police district was officially established in Russell Township. Richard Mitchell was appointed as the first Russell Police Chief and the police station was relocated to a room attached to the Russell Town Hall. The police force consisted of the Chief, a Lieutenant and two part-time Officers. In 1973, the Police Department moved to a building behind the Russell Town Hall.

Today, the Russell Police Department operates out of a police station built in 2008 on Chillicothe Road. The department includes a Chief, a Lieutenant, a Sergeant, six full-time Officers and two part-time Officers.



Worn from 1960-1965

Russell Police Department Patches



Worn from 1965-1983



Worn from 1983 to Present